Hi, I’m Ellen.

One of the ways I express my creativity is through ethereal, multi-dimensional paintings that invite you into my dream-like worlds….
Would you like to enter?

The World of Glimpse

A book for ALL AGES - 4 to 104! The World of Glimpse - A unique and beautiful coffee table book where art, literature and theater combine. THE WORLD OF GLIMPSE is a fantasy world of contagious rhythms and luminous color.

"The World of Glimpse is an amazing book. For fans of Dr. Seuss and Lemony Snicket, this takes the world of imagination, color and symbol, way out there." - Oliver X, Reno Tahoe Tonight Radio

About ELLEN

I am a South African-born writer, artist and filmmaker, currently residing in Arizona. I was educated in South Africa and Britain and immigrated with my family to the USA in 1987.

I have also been a game inventor, advertising consultant, hydroponic farmer, special education teacher, television scriptwriter (adult documentary and children’s animation), college instructor (English, Humanities, Creative Writing) and co-publisher of a college press.

I began painting about 12 years ago and my art has been exhibited in a number of galleries. I am the author of more than a dozen published books ranging from fiction/fantasy to poetry and non-fiction, many of which I have illustrated. It has been my pleasure to have written and lectured extensively on the subjects of creativity.

Media & Interviews

z

On Reno Tahoe Tonight

Ellen discusses creativity and inspirations with fellow writer/artist Jill Glenn and show host Oliver X. You can read about both Jill and Oliver in CONVERSATIONS ABOUT CREATIVITY. 

z

On Arizona Originals

Ellen discusses creativity, perfectionism, balancing the practical with the possible, and the importance of taking action and moving forward.
You can see the full post here.

Books

Hone your skills with Ellen’s insights on creativity and self exploration.

A Fantasist & A Scientist in Conversation

The World of Glimpse

 

Conversations about Creativity

Have You Ever Had a Hunch

I Touched a Star In My Dream Last Night

PRAISE FOR ELLEN

ART

I have completely fallen in love with Ellen’s creative perspective of the world. Her pieces inspire me to add more color and creativity to my life.

Gael Gilliland

Aspiring Art Collector

CREATIVITY

[An] insight and perception that made me reach deep inside myself and pull out my potential.

Annette Tucker

Composer

BOOKS

The World of Glimpse … the full frontal sensory barrage is unlike anything I’ve encountered outside of Walt Disney’s Fantasia – yet this is a book!

Oliver X

Reno Tahoe Tonight Magazine

Blog

EVEN WHEN ALL SEEMS BLEAK, YOU CAN STILL INVITE COLOR INTO YOUR LIFE

EVEN WHEN ALL SEEMS BLEAK, YOU CAN STILL INVITE COLOR INTO YOUR LIFE

Color is power which directly influences the soul.Wassily KandinskyWith the ongoing global pandemic, I feel at times, that I have embarked on a voyage into the deep and foreboding unknown. I imagine that many of you share similar emotions. What lies ahead for all of us? We don’t know....

THINK FLUORESCENT & PHOSPHORESCENT

THINK FLUORESCENT & PHOSPHORESCENT

I never met a color I didn’t like.Dale ChihulyWhy do fluorescent colors arrest my attention? I think it is because they are flamboyant, bodacious, conspicuous, vibrant and brilliant. “Look at me, look at me!” they beckon and I do. Yet I use them sparingly in my paintings – just a hint at...

THINK MONOCHROME

THINK MONOCHROME

A colorful world is always a synonym for paradise. A grey or monocolored world is always a synonym for purgatory or hell…The diversity of color brings paradise.Friedensreich HundertwasserAre paintings in monochromes created because of a need to explore the subtle variables of one color, a...

Life as a Trendsetter – As Featured in AZ Foothills Magazine

Life as a Trendsetter – As Featured in AZ Foothills Magazine

This has just been published in the Arizona Foothills titled: “Trendsetter to Know” and I thought I would share both the interviewer’s questions and my responses with you:  Arizona Foothills Trendsetter to Know: Ellen PalestrantName: Ellen...

Videos

Welcome to the World of Glimpse

Ellen gives a brief overview of her book and video of The World of Glimpse, a theatrical, humorous fantasy realm of Joy, Luminous Color and Creativity inhabited by the Glimpsibles. Let your imagination take hold and join her where negativity and positivity collide.

Songs and Sounds of the Universe

If you shut your eyes,
you’ll hear
some cosmic verse…
songs and sounds of the Universe.

Our Earth, Our Choice

We can if we choose, try to preserve the precious and glorious biodiversity of our planet for our children, their children – and for all the species and ecosystems with whom we coexist.