South African-born writer, artist, and filmmaker, Ellen Palestrant, currently resides in Arizona. She was educated in South Africa and Britain and immigrated with her family to the USA in 1987. Ellen has been a game inventor, hydroponic farmer, special education teacher, television scriptwriter, film producer, college instructor, and co-publisher of a college press. Ellen has 16 published books which include fiction, non-fiction and poetry. Her art has been exhibited in many galleries and is in a number of private collections in the USA, Canada and Australia.

Ellen Palestrant
Two New Books by Ellen Palestrant 2021

A book for ALL AGES – 4 to 104! The World of Glimpse – A unique and beautiful coffee table book where art, literature and theater combine. THE WORLD OF GLIMPSE is a fantasy world of contagious rhythms and luminous color.

The World of Glimpse Coffee Table Version and FREE DVD

[Signed Collector’s Edition]

Limited Edition – $49

The World of Glimpse is an amazing book. For fans of Dr. Seuss and Lemony Snicket, this takes the world of imagination, color and symbol, way out there.” – Oliver X, Reno Tahoe Tonight Radio

 

Glimpse is pure and glorious poetry. The lyrics from one of my favorite songs – ‘The Word’ by the Moody Blues and Lewis Carroll’s Jabberwocky come to mind. The artwork is luminous. The World of Glimpse will inspire, I believe, my own poetry. Enjoy!” – Susan Robbins, Poet and Founder of Rhythm & Verse Salons

Beautiful book for all ages. As a painter and a writer, I am so impressed with this beautiful book. The flowing, clever text works on different levels for different ages. It has beautiful rhythm and cadence for young listeners and engaging philosophy and political commentary for adult readers. The paintings are reproduced very well. I would also recommend the CD of this book. The video is a different art form, creating an entertaining and thought-inspiring show.” – Lisa K. Miller, College Instructor & Artist

The story tackles the age old themes of good versus evil, positivity conquers negativity, courage and righteous motivation transform fear and doubt. This is very much a universal book which can appeal to adults and children alike. I found the abstract style of the paintings invited me to use my imagination and create my own picture of the subject, affording a fun and flexible way to experience the story and artwork. All in all, a very inspired, imaginative, and unique book unlike any I have experienced! The World of Glimpse inspires children with its message of positivity and possibility.” – Maryanne Kremer-Ames Musician, Lyra

Paperback and Kindle books by Ellen Palestrant

A Fantasist and a Scientist in Conversation

The World of Glimpse

A book for ALL AGES – 4 to 104! Poetry, song, poetic prose & humor abound. This is the ebook version of Ellen Palestrant’s unique and beautiful coffee table book, The World of Glimpse, where art, literature and theater combine. THE WORLD OF GLIMPSE is a fantasy realm of contagious rhythms and luminous color. Because Glimpse, the world of the Glimpsibles, is a world of creativity, and Sooma Sooma, the world of the Dreaded Drooma, is one of destructivity, the two worlds collide. A thought-provoking trip into fantasy, philosophy, and wonder. This book has a Glossary called a Glimpsary.

A Fantasist and a Scientist in Conversation

If You Shut Your Eyes, You’ll Hear Some Cosmic Verse

IF YOU SHUT YOUR EYES, YOU’LL HEAR SOME COSMIC VERSE is a collection of highly imaginative, humorous, zany, lyrical, and thought-provoking poems for all ages. You, too, will go bounce-walking on the quadruple-quick, orbiting on a satellite or enjoy flying in an Any-Colored Sky. You also might want to visit Verseblurt Cafe or join in the Bong-A-Long Singalong. With a selection of more than fifty poems in this collection, not only will you be transported to fantasy places in your imagination, but you will have fun with the wordplay.

There's a Light At The End Of My Muddle by Ellen Palestrant

There’s a Light at the End of My Muddle

In THERE’S A LIGHT AT THE END OF MY MUDDLE, there are more than seventy, highly original poems including limericks and tongue-twisters that are entertaining, thought-provoking, witty, zany and imaginative. Did you know that “vaulting and somersaulting without ever halting at the speed of thunderbolting down streets still asphalting will lead to multi-faulting”? This poetry collection is for all ages, fun to read aloud and perform alone or together. From My Story is a Hula-Hoop, to Slurping Pasta, Colors are a Magic Trick and Thorny Thicket Thistles, THERE’S A LIGHT AT THE END OF MY MUDDLE, is wordplay at its best.

I Touched A Star In My Dream Last Night 2014cover

I Touched a Star In My Dream Last Night

I Touched a Star In My Dream Last Night, a collection of poems for all ages, is a boundless, energetic, humorous, and imaginative journey into dreams and possibilities. There are memorable poems for contemplating, memorizing and performing such as Day-Not-Long-Enuffis, Who Am I?, Froggy Goes to Boggywood, Let’s Talk Politics and Groom in the Moon.

Pretzel on Prozac: The Story Of An Immigrant Dog

Pretzel on Prozac: The Story of an Immigrant Dog

Not many dogs live to twenty years of age. Pretzel did.

Although the long life of a confused, anxiety-ridden pet is the focus of Pretzel on Prozac: The Story of an Immigrant Dog, this book is also a human story. Ellen Palestrant calls this memoir an autobiography, that is, her dog Pretzel’s biography told in tandem with fragments from her own life.

With humor, pathos, and great originality, Palestrant offers a moving tale about her maladjusted, routine-bound dog and his many dilemmas.

Koptoe cover image

Koptoe: Transcending Boundaries: The Comrades Marathon

KOPTOE: TRANSCENDING BOUNDARIES; THE COMRADES MARATHON, is a story about two runners and the COMRADES ULTRAMARATHON (a race of 56 miles.) The book is also about the connection between RUNNING, WRITING & CREATING MARATHONS – about the various marathons in our lives.

If You Can Make It, Mr. Harris? So Can I by Ellen Palestrant

If You Can Make It, Mr. Harris…So Can I

Sam (Sammy) Harris, one of the youngest survivors of the Holocaust, speaks to thousands of adults and school children every year. Among the numerous letters he receives are those from hundreds of students who have been inspired by Sam’s courage and positivity. When Ellen Palestrant read these letters, she was struck by what they strongly illuminated: kids today are hungry for the values and character traits Sam epitomizes—and not the material values of cynical marketers with which they are constantly bombarded. Nor should kids be the unsuspecting recipients of messages of hate for the other broadcast by conspiratorial political and religious leaders and their colluding supporters. An insidious mind-grab exists and Sam Harris is the perfect antidote.

CREATIVE THINKING SERIES

There is no ownership of creativity.

Even though it tends to be primarily associated with the arts, creative thinking is found in many disciplines and areas of work. This Creative Thinking Series, will not only help you to discover the creativity of others, but also, realize your own creative potential, enrich your own life, and the lives of others as well.

Have You Ever Had A Hunch 2014 cover

Have You Ever Had a Hunch?

Book #1 of the Creative Thinking Series

Reclaim and explore your own creativity, creative potential and intuition by exploring the educational, sociological, psychological, and political influences on your independent thinking. However much you might have created, there is always so much more to learn!

Conversations About Creativity by Ellen Palestrant

Conversations About Creativity

Book #2 of the Creative Thinking Series

What makes creative people tick? Ellen Palestrant’s conversations with diverse creators gives readers fascinating insights into the commonalities, the differences, the passions, the persistence and the joyful engagement found in the innovative process. There is no ownership of creativity which exists in many disciplines. These interviews are inspirational and catalysts for self-reflection and creative engagement.

Have You Ever Had A Hunch 2014 cover

Let’s Do Hunch

Book #3 of the Creative Thinking Series

LET’S DO HUNCH™, the method, is used by individuals, groups, facilitators, book clubs, writers, artists, actors, business people, interior designers, engineers, lawyers – all people who would like to reclaim and develop their creativity potential, and improve their creative thinking skills.

Quotes About Creativity by Ellen Palestrant

Quotes About Creativity

Book #4 of the Creative Thinking Series

I have been collecting quotations for many years from a variety of creative thinkers whom I have come across in my readings. Their thoughts about their lives, their creative processes and philosophies on a wide-range of topics have served as both reinforcements to and advancements of my own thinking on creativity and related topics. I have benefited from and enjoyed my internal conversations with these profound thinkers from the past and the present. I decided therefore, to honor their individual strivings and dedication to what was and is meaningful to them in a book of their quotations about creativity.

A Fantasist and a Scientist in Conversation

A Fantasist & A Scientist In Conversation

Book #5 of the Creative Thinking Series

Interdisciplinary Communication across Boundaries for Today’s World. Writer-Artist Ellen Palestrant and Palaeobotanist Professor John M. Anderson transcend the perceived boundaries between the Arts and the Sciences, enhance their knowledge, cross-train their thinking and collaborate in celebrating the Commonalities and Differences in their Ideas and their Disciplines.

Have You Ever Had a Hunch?

Have You Ever Had a Hunch? is an inspiring, uplifting and motivating book that took me into a new dimension of creativity. Thank you for the insight and perception that made me reach deep inside myself and pull out my potential.” – Annette Tucker, composer, lyricist, teacher, writer and producer

I Touched a Star In My Dream Last Night

What a fabulous book of fun, humorous and satirical poems. Palestrant’s energetic ability to find just the right words to express a thought … her ability to play with the reader’s imagination, while telling a story through a poem, makes reading her poems aloud a theatrical performance. I laughed out loud throughout this book, and my favorite character is Moggy Groggy Froggy when he goes to Boggywood. I highly recommend this book for both adults and children ….it can be read and understood at many different levels.” – Jill D. Glenn

Pretzel on Prozac

Pretzel on Prozac is the wonderfully satirical story of an uprooted dog’s life. I just loved this book; Palestrant’s writing style will sweep you through this story only wanting more.” – DOG EARS, What’s New on the Pet-Lovers Bookshelf

Cart

Removing Item